Team

ORLY 
Prof. Orly Goldwasser

Leader and PI
orly.goldwasser@mail.huji.ac.il 
Full professor, Institute of Archaeology and The Ancient Near East
Homepage: http://www.orlygoldwasser.com/
https://huji.academia.edu/orlygoldwasser


 Halely 

Halely Harel
Lab Manager and Scientific Coordinator
haleli.harel@mail.huji.ac.il
PhD Candidate, Institute of Archaeology and The Ancient Near East
Doctoral Fellow, Mandel School for Advanced Studies at the Humanities


DMITRY
Dr. Dmitry Nikolaev

Database and User Interface Developer
dsnikolaev@gmail.com
Post-doctoral fellow, Department of Linguistics
Homepage: http://www.dnikolaev.com/

 

iClassifier ongoing research 

Contact us to join and conduct your research using the iClassifier web app!  
iclassifierteam@gmail.com

Ancient Egyptian

***

For Ancient Egyptian, our data model is compatible with the Thot Data Model (TDM, cf. Polis & Razanajao 2016) and our metadata are based on the ‘Thesauri and ontology for documenting Ancient Egyptian Resources (THOT, http://thot.philo.ulg.ac.be).

Egyptian Lemmata are courtesy of the "Strukturen und Transformationen des Wortschatzes der ägyptischen Sprache" https://edoc.bbaw.de/frontdoor/index/index/docId/2919.
Our data is shared under Creative Commons - CC BY-SA - 4.0 International license License Logo

 

A satellite classifier analysis of the Ramses Project data. 

The hieroglyphic spellings are imported from Ramses Online (http://ramses.ulg.ac.be) and enriched with classifier analysis.

Ramses project 

Liege

ramses@uliege.be

Classifying the Other: The classification of Semitic loanwords in the Egyptian script during New Kingdom Egypt.

Halely Harel 

Orly Goldwasser

Hebrew University of Jerusalem  
Digitizing doctoral thesis “Dissimilation graphique.”
Studying the classification of mass and group nouns in Old Kingdom Egypt.
Simon Thuault Humboldt University, Berlin simon.thuault@live.fr

The Classifiers Y1 and Y2 in religious texts.  

Susana Soler

University of Barcelona

susanasoler@ub.edu

I propose to study how classifiers can be useful in targeting metaphors in a large corpus (in combination with other criteria) and what they can tell about colexification phenomena between [cognition] as target domain and various source domains (e.g. [motion], [action], [sensory perception], etc.). This study will be an important part of a bigger project about cognition and cognition related verbs in Late Egyptian (Uliege - FNRS).

Gaëlle

Chantrain

Yale University, FNRS gaellechantrain@hotmail.com

Comapring classifiers use in hieratic and hieroglyphic versions of the Battle of Kadesh. 

Marina Shama-Popovic

Hebrew University of Jerusalem

shamapopovicmarina@gmail.com

Study of classifier variation in the Ancient Egyptian Coffin Texts - A case study.  Jorke Grotenhuis Université de Liège jorke.grotenhuis@uliege.be
Studying Gardiner sign F27 in hieratic and hieroglyphic sources.  Lucia Langerak  Leiden University l.langerak@outlook.com
Teaching a pilot course where students are instructed to use iClassifier, as part of a practical class instructing digital tools in Egyptology at Humboldt University.  Eliese-Sophia Lincke Humboldt University Berlin eslincke@staff.hu-berlin.de
Advising the annotation of compounds using iClassifier Roman Gundacker Austrian Academy, Vienna Roman.Gundacker@oeaw.ac.at

Compiling a new classifier list for Demotic.

Robert Kade

Freie Universitaet Berlin

robert_kade@gmx.de

A text study of classifiers in the Demotic story of Setna.

Contributing to the Demotic classifier list. 

Christian Casey

Brown University

Christian_casey@brown.edu

 

Sumerian
Sumerian and Cuneiform

Supervising the creation of the Sumerian iClassifier platform. 

Gebhard Selz

Universität Wien

gebhard.selz@univie.ac.at

Creating a sample classifier list for Sumerian. 

Advisor: Prof. Gebhard Selz. 

Bo Zhang Hebrew University of Jerusalem bo.zhang2005@gmail.com


Anatolian hieroglyphs

Advising the creation of an iClassifier platform for Anatolian hieroglyphs. 

Annick Payne

University of Bern

annick.payne@iaw.unibe.ch

 

Old Chinese scripts

Leading the Chinese iClassifier platform. Studying graphemic classifiers in Old Chinese inscriptions.

Yongsheng Chen

Ocean University of China, Qingdao

yongshengch163@163.com

The Study of Classifiers in Ancient Chinese Scripts in Comparison with Egyptian Hieroglyphs Yanru Xu  Hebrew University of Jerusalem yanru.xu@mail.huji.ac.il

 

Classifier languages

Advising iClassifier for the creation of a classifier languages platform. Studying classifier use in Nepali and Burmese.  Dörte Borchers Karl-Franzens-University of Graz dborchers9@web.de
A text study in Japanese - Digitizing the classifiers in Rashomon So Miyagawa Georg-August-Universität Göttingen & Kyoto University runa.uei@gmail.com

Developing an annotation tool for Amazonian classifier and categorization systems. 

Thiago Chacon

DDL- Université de Lyon/ Universidade de Brasília

thiago_chacon@hotmail.com

Advising the creation of iClassifier platform for modern Chinese.

Studying classifiers in versions of the “Pear story” in Chinese. 

Dan Ke

Universität Leipzig

linguist.dan.ke@gmail.com

 

iClassifier advisory board

Prof. Colette Grinevald http://www.colettegrinevald.fr/

Prof. Frank Kammerzell https://www.archaeologie.hu-berlin.de/de/personal/kammerzell

Dr. Annick Payne http://www.iaw.unibe.ch/ueber_uns/va_personen/pd_dr_payne_annick/index_ger.html